OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Media Release Archives
form: uppercase'>For immediate release

June 9, 2008

Contact:  Pam Joseph at (419) 995-8284

Jaye McCain to receive Town and Gown Award at June 12 Board meeting

The Ohio State University at Lima’s Board of Trustees will present the sixth annual Violet I. Meek Town and Gown Award at 5 p.m., Thursday, June 12, 2008, in the Willow Room of the Shawnee Country Club following a Board of Trustee meeting at 4 p.m. in the Waldheim Room.

The 2008 honoree is Jaye E. McCain, financial advisor for Edward Jones and Associates in Allen County, who has demonstrated a significant and sustained example of Disciplina in civitatem, or education for citizenship, the motto of The Ohio State University. As a 1973 graduate of Ohio State with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology, she is an excellent ambassador for the University and has served in a variety of capacities. McCain is currently a co-chair of Ohio State Lima’s Comprehensive Capital Campaign. She served on the Citizens Advisory Committee in the 1980s and continued when it was reorganized as the Ohio State Lima Board of Trustees. McCain served as President of the Board from 1998-2000 and nine years total on the Board of Trustees. From 2000-2006, McCain served on The Ohio State University Alumni Association Advisory Committee. McCain has served on the Allen County Development Council, the American Business Women Association, the Board of Directors of the United Way, the Exchange Club, and the St. Rita’s Board of Directors. She has also been an active fundraiser for Lima Central Catholic High School, the St. Charles Roman Catholic Parish and St. Charles Elementary School.

The award is named for Violet I. Meek, who retired as Dean and Director in 2003 after 12 years in the position at Ohio State Lima. During her tenure, she was an ardent supporter and promoter of community growth and increased interaction between the University and the people and communities in its service area. As such, the Board of Trustees created an award in her honor to recognize those working toward similar goals. Past winners include David S. Adams, Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology; Tom Francis, a popular media personality in Lima whose activities have centered around his commitment to the University and the community; Clyde Rauch, the president of Tuttle Services who has worked diligently with Ohio State Lima and its co-located institution; Bob Schulte, co-owner and Executive President of Spherion of Lima, Inc., who is currently serving as a campaign co-chair for Ohio State Lima’s comprehensive campaign; and William V. Ackerman, Associate Professor of Geography.

The agenda for the trustee meeting follows.

The Ohio State University at Lima


June 12, 2008

4 p.m.

Call to Order and Attendance                                                Nancy Knight, Chair 


Approval of minutes of May 8, 2008, meeting minutes               Jon Rockhold

Consideration of financial condition                                         Devon Phelps          


Academic Department Report:  None

Trustee Committee Report: None


Departmental Report: None

Dean and Director’s Report                                                  John Snyder



Old Business

New Business

· Elect Ted E. Griffith as Chair of the Ohio State Lima Board of Trustees for a term beginning on July 1, 2008 and ending on June 30, 2009.

· Elect James W. Unverferth as Vice Chair of the Ohio State Lima Board of Trustees for a term beginning on July 1, 2008 and ending on June 30, 2009.

· Recognize Nancy J. Knight for her excellent service as Chair of the Ohio State Lima Board of Trustees for 2007-08.

· Recognize Jered Slusher for his excellent service at Student Trustee of the Ohio State Lima Board of Trustees for 2007-08.

· Items presented by Trustees for consideration at a future meeting.

NEXT BOARD MEETING:  August 14, 2008, at 4 p.m

# # #