OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Media Release Archives
For Immediate Release

May 2, 2014

Contact: Lesley Fry (419) 995-8671 or Pam Joseph (419) 995-8284

Ohio State Lima announces WBL Scholastic Bowl Tournament results

More than 100 high school students competed

The St. Marys Memorial High School varsity and junior varsity teams took top honors in their respective divisions at the Western Buckeye League Scholastic Bowl Tournament held today at The Ohio State University at Lima. The varsity team won eight out of its nine matches and the junior varsity team swept all nine matches.

The St. Marys varsity team included Alex Now, Ben Tuttle, Nikai Varuska, T.J. Wirth and Chance Yahl. The junior varsity team members from St. Marys include Chevelle Boomershine, Colin Burke, Taylor Coffey, Marissa Hile, Haven Hubble, Maddie Jaros, Gus Martin, Frank Moots, Kyle Oswalt, Bailey Sparks and Simon Wirth. Their coach is Chad Doll.

The varsity runner-up team was from Elida High School. Elida varsity members include Steven Britt, Noah Dukehart, Connor French, Lee Lin, Brennan Swick and Patrick VanMeter. Their coach is Shelby Cluts.

The junior varsity runner-up team was from Bath High School and included team members Paul Blasiman, Brooklyn Iames, Issei Miller, Matt Sterling and Noah Young. Their coach is Dan Grime.

The WBL Scholastic Bowl All Tournament Team was chosen by the coaches and made up of one member from each school. The 2014 All Tournament Team members are Chris Ellington from Bath, Hayden Rodriguez from Celina, Bryan Wolfe from Defiance, Steven Britt from Elida, Ben Pistora from Kenton, Ben Deitering from Ottawa-Glandorf, Theo Paik from Shawnee, T.J. Wirth from St. Marys, Daniel Perry from Van Wert and Austin Klingler from Wapakoneta.

High school teams from around western Ohio went head-to-head in the round-robin scholastic bowl tournament. Varsity and junior varsity teams from Bath (Dan Grime), Celina (Hal Hoover), Defiance (James Kerr), Elida (Shelby Cluts), Kenton (Robin Hughes), Ottawa-Glandorf (Brad Leis), Shawnee (Janice Drerup), St. Marys (Chad Doll), Van Wert (Anita Zuber) and Wapakoneta (Adam Friemering) competed. Coaches’ names are in parenthesis.

The 2014 competition is the eleventh year for the tournament, which is hosted and sponsored by The Ohio State University at Lima.

# # #