OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Media Release Archives
For Immediate Release

April 5, 2010

Contact: Pam Joseph (419) 995-8284 or Lesley King Fry (419) 995-8671

Ohio State Lima announces WBL Scholastic Bowl Tournament results

More than 120 high school students competed

Shawnee High School swept its nine varsity matches to win the Western Buckeye League Scholastic Bowl Tournament held in March at The Ohio State University at Lima. The junior varsity team from St. Marys Memorial claimed victories in all seven matches to win the JV division.

The Shawnee High School varsity team included Aaron Anderson, Amanda Lawson Emma Nimps, Clayton Smith, Daniel Sohn, Brandon Sweeney and Dustin Waldron. Their coach is Deb File. The St. Marys JV team included Michael Broski, Kevin Dammeyer, Cody Goble, Natalie Hicks, Jessica Jeffries, Daniel Miller, Priya Sivagnanam, Anthony Tenney and T.C. Tenney. Their coach is Chad Doll.

The varsity runner-up team was from Bath High School. Bath varsity members include Joshua Chaffins, Lucas Erickson, Jeremy Jett, Kody Orpurt, Faiz Rizvi, Austin Ruhe, and Joey Runser. Their coach is Dan Grime.

The junior varsity runner-up team was from Shawnee High School and included team members Prudhvi Battula, Eli Bodey, Jessica Jelinger, Anneliese Paik, Monica Paik and Dalton Smith. The Shawnee JV coach is Lindsay Fenstermaker.

The WBL Scholastic Bowl All Tournament Team was chosen by the coaches and made up of one member from each school. The 2010 All Tournament Team members are Lucas Erickson from Bath, Jyotsna Gutta from Celina, Joe Loester from Defiance, Chris Radebaugh from Elida, John Dulin from Kenton, Nathan Kruse from Ottawa-Glandorf, Clayton Smith from Shawnee, Matt Muhlenkamp from St. Marys, Jonathan Haggis from Van Wert, and Chris Schwartz from Wapakoneta.

High school teams from around western Ohio went head-to-head in the round-robin scholastic bowl tournament. Varsity and junior varsity teams from Bath (Dan Grime), Celina (Hal Hoover), Defiance (Rae Gambler), Elida (Shelby Cluts), Kenton (Robin Hughes and Rebecca Wolfe), Ottawa-Glandorf (Janie Font), Shawnee (Deb File and Lindsay Fenstermaker), St. Marys (Chad Doll), Van Wert (Cindy Thomas) and Wapakoneta (Adam Fried) competed. Coaches’ names are in parenthesis.

The 2010 competition is the seventh year for the tournament, which is hosted by The Ohio State University at Lima and sponsored in part by the Mercer Savings Bank.

# # #